25th to 26th September 2017
Venue: Lancaster University Management School

The Ninth Foundation of the Islamic Finance Conference (FIFC) is hosted by Lancaster University Management School and is organised by GOLCER research unit of Lancaster University Management School, United Kingdom, in collaboration with the organizers of the FIFC series: the Centre of Excellence in Islamic Studies of the University of Melbourne, Australia and the International Centre for Education in Islamic Finance (INCEIF) Malaysia. Sunway University Malaysia Business School is associated with the event. The conference welcome speech will be delivered by Professor Mark E. Smith, Lancaster University Vice Chancellor. Keynote speeches will be given by two notable IDB Laureates in Islamic Finance Professor Datuk Rifaat Abdel Kareem and Professor Kabir Hassan.

Datuk Professor Syed Othman Alhabshi, Dy President of INCEIF, will deliver an industry lecture on Day 2. Founded in 2006 with a grant from the Australian Research Council as a non-profit organisation, the FIFC brings researchers and practitioners together so that they may review developments in Islamic banking and finance. The aim of the Conference is to provide a forum for a general exchange of views and to encourage new initiatives across these rapidly expanding areas.

The conference is to be followed by a 2-day Islamic Banking School (IBS) where participants will receive training in modern research techniques. IBS participants who also attend the FIFC receive a 25% discount of the IBS registration fee.

For more details see: http://www.timberlake.co.uk/courses/islamic-banking-and-finance-school.html

Topics: We invite empirical and theoretical research covering all areas of Islamic banking and finance but not restricted to:

  • Arbitration and Islamic contracts
  • Microfinance, Crowdfunding and SMEs
  • Financial accounting and disclosure
  • Banking performance, efficiency and productivity
  • Liquidity challenges, financial risk and stability
  • Takaful and conventional insurance
  • Transparency, governance and corporate social responsibility
  • Sukuk and conventional bond issuance
  • Earnings management and impression management
  • Digital Banking
  • Islamic economy, financial and capital markets
  • Regulation and Shariah governance
  • Islamic indices - performance, volatility and correlation

Submission Information

Submission deadline: July 7, 2017, Acceptance notification: July 21, 2017

Registration Fees: to be paid by August 4, 2017. Students (£200), Academics (£300), Non-Academics (£400). Those registering by July 1, 2017 will receive an Early Bird discount of 15%.

Submission: using the subject heading '9 FIFC', your paper submission may be sent to any of the following:

  • Dr Vasileios Pappas (fifc9@lancaster.ac.uk)
  • Professor Mohammed Ariff (ariff@sunway.edu.my)
  • Professor Shamsher Mohamed (shamsher@inceif.org)

Review Process & Journals

Best paper award: Minhaj University, Lahore has donated US$2500.00 towards best paper awards.

Submissions will be blind reviewed by the Scientific Committee, which will adjudicate for Best Paper Awards and journal publications. Selected papers with original contributions to the field will be considered for publication in one of two journals: Thunderbird International Business Review (Elsevier) and Quarterly Review of Economics and Finance (Wiley). Selected papers must make their journal submission by November 31, 2017.

In addition to the publication of best selected papers, the FIFC has organised commissioned studies to be presented by pre-selected scholars/practitioners as chapters relevant for a book to be published by the Edward Elgar Publishing Ltd UK-USA under the title of: Accounting and Financial Standards for Islamic Banking and Finance: An Assessment. Leading Scholars/Industry professionals in standard are contributing to this book.

Conference Co-Chairs

  • Dr. Marwan Izzeldin (Lancaster University), Dr Yusuf Karbhari (Cardiff University)
  • Professor Mohamed Ariff (Sunway University)

Scientific committee

Datuk Prof Syed Othman Alhabshi (CEO INCEIF, Malaysia), Prof Mohamed Ariff (HOD Economics, Sunway University, Malaysia), Prof Datuk Rifaat A, Kareem (IDB Laureate 2010, INCIEF, Malaysia), Prof Kabir Hassan (IDB Laureate 2016, (University of New Orleans, USA), Prof Mike G. Tsionas (Lancaster University Management School, UK), Prof Iftekhar Hasan (Fordham University), Prof Steven Ongena (University of Zurich), Prof Ana-Maria Fuertes (Cass Business School, UK), Prof Ishaq Bhatti (La Trobe University, Australia), Dr Marwan Izzeldin (Director GOLCER, Lancaster University Management School, UK), Prof Jill Johnes (Dean, Huddersfield University Business School,UK), Dr Yusuf Karbhari (Cardiff University, UK), Dr Vasileios Pappas (University of Bath, UK), Dr Marwa ELnahass (Newcastle University Business School, UK), Prof Emeritus Mervyn Lewis (University of South Australia), Prof Abbas Mirakhor (World Bank; INCEIF, Malaysia), Prof Hussain Mohi-ud-din Qadri (Minhaj University Lahore, Pakistan), Prof Shamsher Mohamad (INCEIF, Malaysia, Prof Abdullah Saeed (The University of Melbourne, Australia), Prof Michael Skully (Monash University, Australia), Gerry Steele (Lancaster University Management School, UK), Prof Ghulam Sorwar (Salford University, UK), Dr Alina Spiru (Lancaster University Management School, UK).


Ms Caren Wareing (c.wareing@lancaster.ac.uk), Alireza Zarei (alireza@sunway.edu.my) Shamsher Mohamad (shamsher@inceif.org) & PA Diana Melissa (diana@inceif.org)